Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Popcorn Predicament

I’m pretty new to raw, and I’m absolutely loving it, but I REALLY miss popcorn. Raisins are good to eat while watching a movie, and so are dried peas. Any other suggestions for substitutions???

Comments

• thecavsmanthecavsman Raw Newbie

http://goneraw.com/recipes/4703-Green-Popcorn-f…

There you go. Never tried it, but people seem to say it soothes their popcorn craving

• bittbitt Raw Newbie

not quite the same is the raw cauliflower popcorn. sadly. maybe some kind of raw cracker with fun spices in it?

i just go for berries or raw ice cream. mmmm.

• SueSue Raw Newbie

Well, I hate to be a devil’s advocate, but when I want popcorn, I eat…...POPCORN. Cravings don’t go away overnight. It’s a process. If you crave something, have it! Don’t ever beat yourself up for it.

• I think to stick to raw foods I have to avoid trigger foods. If you can just eat popcorn and thats it, you are lucky! I can’t seem to leave it at just that.The good news for me is that the longer i avoid giving in to my ‘trigger’ foods that I crave, the easier it gets.

• When my daughter and I have movie night, we sit and watch a movie and used to eat popcorn. The last time we tried a big bowl of grapes, and that did the trick. yummy.

A messier alternative might be kale chips, which get crispy and salty, and might satisfy that urge.

• jellibijellibi Raw Newbie

My daughter had a great solution to this once. She said, “Mom, I’m making popcorn tonight!”—and I assumed she would be making regular popcorn… but when I came downstairs she said, “It’s raw!” with a big smile on her face. She had cut the corn off of 2 ears of corn, put it into a bowl, and sprinkled a lot of sea salt on top of it. It was delicious!

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie