Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Additional protein and iron sources

NuttgirlNuttgirl Raw Newbie

Are there any additional things I can add to my foods for a higher protein and iron intake? I was looking into using Braggs but noticed that the protein is derived from soy. I am still on the fence about using more soy based products after reading how controversial soy is for the human body. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Comments

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie

I think you are wise to stay away from soy, as it is so bad for you….as far a protein goes, spirulina is a great way to get more protein, as is hemp protein powder. Chickpeas (garbonzo beans) that are sprouted are also a good source of protein.

• Hi, Nutgirl!

I am new to raw food, however I think the best replacement for protein is sprouted quinoa. quinoa is a high protein grain (50% more protein than any other grain), and it is the easiest to sprout. It also contains many amino acids and vitamins (especially Vitamin E). It is also rich of calcium, iron and magnesium. I usually add about half a cup of quinoa in my salads in the evening. It satisfies my craving for heavier meal in the evening and it gives me tons of energy. Good luck!

• NuttgirlNuttgirl Raw Newbie

Where can I find some of these things you mention like quinoa or spirulina? Are they available at the grocery store or are they available at a special store?