Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Canned organic beans okay?

Hi. Just wondering if canned organic beans (like garbanzo, kidney, etc.) are okay to eat as far as raw foods are concerned. I understand about the sprouting of beans (although I haven’t done that yet)—but, I’ve really been enjoying putting chickpeas on my salad, and just wondering if I’m getting all the nutritional value from them. I appreciate your replies. Thanks!

Comments

• Branwyn32Branwyn32 Raw Newbie

I’m pretty sure the canning process of ANYTHING involves very high levels of heat, so anything in a can is definitely not raw.

I’m new to raw, but I’m not really sure there is a way to get edible raw chickpeas, (sad cuz I love them too, especially in hummus!) as I’ve heard alot of people talk about finding replacements for hummus. If there is a way to have raw ones, I’d love to know!

• heyenglishheyenglish Raw Newbie

You can actually buy raw chickpeas to sprout. I have some sitting on my desk because I still haven’t gotten around to sprouting them. Although, I’ve read on a lot of posts about them being particularly difficult to sprout. I think I bought mine from Natural Zing.

• WinonaWinona Raw Newbie

there’s folks who love raw garbanzos (soaked and sprouted of course) and folks who don’t. Try em, see what you think! They’re crunchy and nice, in my opinion. I eat 1/2 cup at a time, once in a while (whenever i bother sprouting).

Branwyn – yes, canning anything involves high levels of heat, not raw.

• Thank you for your replies. I’ll definitely try soaking & sprouting them instead of using them canned. Thanks!

• Branwyn32Branwyn32 Raw Newbie

Where do you guys get your raw chickpeas? Cuz honestly, I think a life lived without hummus is a life half lived!

• JoyceHJoyceH Raw Newbie