Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Cous Cous

Sorry, I am new to raw food therefore my question: Is cous cous considered raw if soaked in water?

Comments

• dodododo Raw Newbie

id like to know this one too please :)

• waterbaby12347waterbaby12347 Raw Newbie

Is cous cous the one that starts with rice or is it a little pasta type??? Anyway doesn’t that make it full of pesticides (rice) or a dead food (pasta)??? Both of which wouldn’t be considered raw… Just my humble opinion… smile

Have you thought about using cauliflower??? There are recipes, here on our site that look tasty!!!

• To Waterbaby: From what I read on the Internet: Couscous granules are made from semolina (coarsely ground durum wheat) or, in some regions, from coarsely ground barley or pearl mille. So, if we add cold water, it is raw?! Puzzled. Also, there is organic cous cous available.

• heyenglishheyenglish Raw Newbie

I don’t believe cous cous is raw. I love using butternut squash as a replacement! Just throw cubes into your food processor and process until in tiny, “cous cous” pieces. Then add spices, herbs, and sauces as you please to flavor accordingly.

• shawnieshawnie Raw Newbie

I don’t think it’s raw. It’s not sproutable, made from ground wheat and would be considered a “dead food” wether it’s organic or not.

Again, aren’t those grain allowed to die in the field before harvesting and then crushed or ground corsely into a dead grain??? I guess, if you soak it and it sprouts then it would be alive and therefore raw… If is doesn’t sprout, then not raw… But I’m NO expert!!!

• pianissimapianissima Raw Newbie

not raw.

“Kernels of whole wheat are steamed, dried and then crushed to make bulghur”

hope that helps. sorry. i have a GREAT recipe for pseudo-cous cous though if you click on my profile.

• nycgrrlnycgrrl Raw Newbie

couscous is simply a pasta—it is NOT a grain at all.