Tired of being judged

FruginiFrugini Raw Newbie

I’m a college student currently living in a student community-type setting. I live with 25 other people and share lunch and dinner. Lately I’ve been feeling really awkward because, no offense to people whose turn it is to cook, I don’t want to eat their cooked food. Thankfully the house only prepares vegan meals, although I am one of the few vegans. When I was just vegan sometimes it was already awkward, because the non-vegans tended to have different tastes and desires toward food. When I wanted plain steamed vegetables, they wanted oily heavily spiced veggies that I usually didn’t care to eat. Now that I have been eating almost entirely raw, I usually don’t want ANY of their food. I feel a lot of internal pressure to eat their food to fit in with the community and not offend the cooks. I don’t like the feeling I have when we all sit down together and I choose not to eat anything or prepare my own dish. I also don’t like the feeling I have when I choose to eat a little of what they cooked just to fit in because I know that it is not what my body wants. Lately I’ve just been avoiding mealtime and sneaking into the kitchen when there aren’t many people around. The situation is even harder because people in my house are very critical of anything they perceive as “bourgeois” (expensive) or food that comes from far away, like bananas. I just want to be able to eat what I want to eat without feeling judged. I know that the feeling is probably exaggerated in my head, but it still doesn’t feel good.

Comments