solar food dehydrator

FruginiFrugini Raw Newbie

I found a non-electric food dehydrator on craigslist for an affordable price. My question is, does this actually work? Could I make pizza crusts, breads, crackers, brownies and other yummy recipes or would the food just rot in there? I live in Oregon, in a very rainy place that gets little sun except in July. I kind of think that this wouldn’t work here, but I’d like to know if anyone has had experience with it. Thanks!

Comments

• randommararandommara Raw Newbie

I’m no dehydrator expert but without a fan to carry away moisture, I think it wouldn’t work. I know even in the middle of summer there it’s very humid so I wouldn’t recommend it. Keep watching Craigslist and eventually you’ll find an Excalibur. It took me a few months but I found a 5 tray like new for $75! The used ones on Ebay go for way too much when you consider the shipping. If you end up getting a new one then definitely get it directly from excalibur. They’re only about $10 more than the cheapest new ones on ebay and they come with more stuff and free shipping. Check out their special which is always the same, lol!

• FruginiFrugini Raw Newbie

Thanks! I’ve been looking on craigslist like every day! I really want to get one soon though, to help my partner stay raw. He really craves bread-like substances and more traditional protein sources.

• I thought about a solar oven and read about it and learned that you can’t really regulate the temp very well and could end up with temps above 125F or more depending on where you live. Here in AZ a car with the windows rolled up can clear 150F, so imagine concentrating the temps even more.

I live in a cooler place in AZ now and I did some Dashboard Dehydrating, regulating the temp by opening and closing the windows a bit. I had a thermometer in there to check. It worked great! Grawnola, flax crackers, mushroom fajita mix, all in two days max.

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie