Fasting for Yom Kippur

I just wanted to wish all our raw Jews a Good Yontiff and an easy fast tonight and tomorrow. I always find it almost a joy to know that I have to abstain from food for 24 hours, but not having any water makes it tough – I usually get that terrible headache around 3pm or so. Is anyone planning to break the fast tomorrow night with an exciting raw recipe? Did anyone do any actual atoning during the period from Rosh Hashannah until today?

Comments

• Good Yontiff to you, and thank you for bringing this up here. :)

This is my first year eating raw, so it’ll be new for me. I’ve been looking forward to the fast, although I always drink water with it. I grew up reform, so that’s how we always handled the fast… I had no idea it traditionally calls for now water????

My 6 yr.old daughter made me the cutest card in Sunday School apologizing for her misbehavior, and we both made atonement to each other for our past freak-outs over the year. Honestly, I didn’t really have anyone else to apologize to nor atonement to be done… I’ve been pretty much keeping to myself this past year.

On Sunday our temple has a day of Tikkun in the Community, where they have many different projects set up for members to give back to our community. Since I have to work later on Sunday, it was difficult to find a project that I could participate in with my 6 yr. old. The only one that really works for us is to make cards for the soldiers.

How about you? How did your atoning go?