Sprouting Buckwheat

Help! I’m so confused :D

I bought some buckwheat, and need to sprout it for a recipe. I went to look at sproutpeople.com and a couple other websites that say to soak for about 30 mins to an hour, then do this whole rinse/drain/rinse/drain thing. However when I read comments around this website people say to soak the sprouts for 4-6 hours or overnight, then sprout for 2 days. Which is it?

p.s. i love this site!

Comments

• Hi Katmondu - Everything ive sprouted has had to soak for a number of hours first. When i do buckwheat, i use hulled and i usually soak it for about 10 hours, and it takes 2-3 days to sprout. It will just about double in size (1 cup grain = 2 cups sprouts). I will say im pretty new to sprouting – so far though i have succesfully sprouted barley, buckwheat, kamut, quinoa, millet, and lentils using the strainer method that Juliano describes in Raw. Best of Luck!

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

I think 2-3 days is too long. I used to do my wheat berries and buckwheat for 2-3 days and everything came out a bit stinky and gross. Then I saw a youtube video with Juliano on it and he said that you should only sprout for 24 hours, just until there is maybe just 1mm of tail, and since I have been doing that everything has been coming out really well. No wet dog smell!

• interesting. i was going by the rule of thumb that the tail should be as long at the seed.. i thought theyve been tasting fine, and i dont get any smell. (okay – sometimes theres a wet dog smell – but its usually from the wet dog! lol) Ill have to try them earlier and see if theyre better… I dont usually get any tail until the end of the first day though.. so i wonder if maybe mine are just slower growing?