Pasta "Shells" RAW Alternative?

Hi Folks, hope everyone is having a great day. We're having a heatwave in Boston- high 30's today!

I am still fairly new to the RAW way of life (and am about 50-60%) and am looking for some suggestions. I will be making stuffed shells for my stepson and DH this weekend. In the past I have just kind of gone off RAW for things like that but I can't even tell you how unappealing the idea of pasta is to me right now. Now, I know it's not great for my fam either, but I am trying to ease them into a healthier way of eating-I am not stuffing the shells with cheese, for example. My stepson doesn't live with us and is so wrapped up in SAD that it's a big source of concern for me. But I digress. Baby steps. :-)

If anyone has any thoughts on things I could do instead of the shells, I would be so grateful!

Namaste!

r4r

Comments

• KhaasLadkiKhaasLadki Raw Newbie

If you are making a stuffed shell like manicotti, try stuffed zucchini instead! Just slice the zucchini really thin (either by hand or lengthwise on a mandolin). Then you can make a pate, cheeze, or stuffing to wrap the zucchini around! Personally I try not to eat too many nuts, but I bet a marinated mushroom stuffing would be heavenly!

Here's a picture of a zucchini roll that I found: Stuffed Zucchini

Good luck on cooking for your family... I know mine will never go raw, but I have gotten them to eat MUCH healthier and my mom actually likes a lot of RAW desserts that I have made for her! It takes time, but eventually you'll get through to them in one way or another.