Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Addicted! Help!

I'm trying to eat more raw foods, but I can't seem to get past the addictive processed foods I've been eating for 33 years of my life (all my life). I tried going raw summer 2008 and I lost about 10 lbs but then I got sucked back in by the 'black hole.' I want to go through my cabinets and throw out all the processed food in my house, but I know my husband wouldn't like that. He's supportive about what I want, but there's certain things he won't live without (like soda). I only drink water or organic juices so having soda in the house isn't a big deal for me. However, I LOVE cookies and I gobble them up if they're just sitting around. The fresh produce in the stores here (Illinois) sucks in the winter. It's usually already going bad by the time it gets to the store. It's easier for me to eat healthy in the summer because there are more options. Ugh! I'm so frustrated! This is probably what a drug addict or alcoholic feels like when they really want to get off the drugs or alcohol but can't because the chemical has such a hold on them. I really want to be free from sugar and processed foods, but it keeps reeling me in. I feel like a failure because my willpower isn't strong enough to stop me from eating that crap. I feel like the chemical dependence is too strong.

I guess my question to you is how did you overcome the addicting processed foods? How long did it take you to get over them? Do you ever trip up because you remember the way it made you feel and you end up eating something you shouldn't? What can I do to overcome my processed food addiction? A couple things I thought of were to throw out everything in my house like I mentioned before and to have my mom do my grocery shopping so that I don't buy things not on my list. Thanks for your help and advice.

Comments