Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

I Don't Know When I'm Hungry

Hi there,

I'm new to Raw and just trying some things out.

Yesterday I ate only raw foods for most of the day to just try it out. I've eased into eating more raw foods over the past few weeks after a lifetime of eating almost none.

The thing is, I can't tell when I'm hungry or full eating raw foods. I ate a big salad with fruit in the morning and decided to stop eating once the food didn't taste as good (almost the whole plate). Then I had a green smoothie (about 1L) after my workout around noon but never felt full although I didn't feel like I needed more. Then in the afternoon I thought I was hungry so I ate some pumpkin seeds and made another smoothie but only drank about half of it.

This is very unusual for me. When eating cooked foods, I could have a big meal, feel very full and then a few hours later feel starving again.

Is this normal for starting a raw diet? What does it mean?

Comments

• Correct me if I'm wrong, anyone, but on raw food (from what I've experienced-- I've been in-and-out transitioning for about a year now....finally going 100% after this last week of cleansing) you're not going to feel like you're "starving." I was reading in Carol Alt's books that when her doctor started her on raw food, (s)he told her to go home and eat as much of any raw fruit or veggie she wanted, and she would be fine. No weight gain and healing, as well as no feeling of "starvation." From what I've seen, I think that the theme amongst raw foodists is "listen to your body." So right now, since you're new, you'll probably feel like you're munching all day (as Carol shared in her book). I'm sure that as you grow more accustomed to everything, your body will tell you what it wants next.