Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Intro/ Raw Food Staples

Hi, I'm Rachel.

I'm new to a consistent raw food lifestyle, as I'm in college and not able to easily get around the city I'm in for fresh foods.

Anyway, I came to raw food in a few different ways. In high school, my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer (caught in its earlier stages, but still quite a scare). My mom made the decision to go an alternative track, rather than going through the toxic process of chemotherapy. After a lumpectomy and 3.5 years into the cancer-free window, she's alive and healthy today. Though she doesn't eat raw, she's a big promoter of it (don't ask me how you can know the benefits and not do it-- except she just *likes* her cooked foods!). Also, my best friend from high school went vegan our senior year, and was always sharing the good news with me. Her whole family eventually transitioned, and one time when I was at their house, her mom handed me this book, saying "Vegan I can do. This-- THIS is too much! But the testimonies are great!" And it was Carol Alt's book The Raw 50. I borrowed it and was hooked on the idea.

Anyway, now that I've been dabbling in it for about a year (I'll call that my transition period) I'm trying to figure out what I need to stock up my pantry/fridge with in order to be able to make most raw recipes.

Would you guys mind letting me know what *your* raw staples are?!! Don't worry about overwhelming me, I'll pick and choose if it gets to be too much!

Thanks!

Rachel

Comments

• Lots of avocados and tomatoes for me. I make guacamole, salads and soups with them.