Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

always cold, never hungry

I am relatively new to 100% raw (about a couple weeks) and have been vegan for about a year, vegetarian about 4, and for the year I've been vegan, I've been about 70%-80% raw. the past month or so, I've been all raw with the exception of half a cup of cooked beans at dinner.

Since January, I have become chronically cold. I live in south Louisiana, so the coldest it gets is about 40 degrees during the day maybe three days a week, and I could have on a coat, sweatshirt, boots, jeans and still be freezing my butt off. Lately, although it has been getting warmer (right now its about 70) I have become colder and colder. My nails have a bluish tint from time to time, and I haven't had my period for 2 months, both of which are signs of anemia. My mom says its because I am too thin (I'm 16, 5"9 and a little under 120) but I have no desire to gain weight nor believe that is why. I aim to eat about 1000 calories a day, but usually only get up to about 700-800.

Anyway, I am also hardly hungry anymore. The only way I can be hungry enough to eat dinner is to just have an apple for breakfast, a salad for lunch, and even then, I can feel ravenous but be filled up by just a salad at dinner. Any advice, tips, explanations?

Comments

• joannabananajoannabanana Raw Newbie

It is definitely because you are too thin! At your weight and height, I'd estimate that your body needs 1300 calories just to sit all day and if you are moving and exercising as well, your body is really deprived of nourishment. You must get more calories. Your body can't give up anything that it doesn't have, so if you want to get your period, you NEED to put more fat into your diet. That's the only way you can get it again. I lost mine for a year, and after 2 weeks of eating some nut butters and avocados, i got it again- thankfully!