Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Hi! I'm intimidated...

I have been reading about raw for two years now (more on the net). It’s something that I really would like to do, but I’m intimidated. Some of the recipes seem so complicated, and I’m afraid that I will miss the foods that I love (especially cheese). And all of the talk of sprouting and seeds, and I get confused if something is really considered raw. So, far I have bought Alissa Cohen’s book. Can you all suggest other books that would be great to read? And please motivate or inspire me to dive in! Direct me to simple, yummy recipes in the recipes section too please!! I have scrolled through, but there are so many it’s overwhelming to me!!

Thanks!!

Comments

• Hi Lapetitemort - I totally understand where youre coming from. Im pretty new at this myself (about 6 months) now, and when i first started there was so much i didnt know! The first cookbook i picked up was Rawvolution by Matt Amsden. I loved it – i could make everything in it, and it came out looking just like the pictures! I started very simply, and as i figured things out i slowely added them to my repetoire. I only started sprouting about 3 weeks ago! I dont know why i was so scared of it – its remarkably easy. I should probably mention im not much of a cook to begin with – so for me to be able to accomplish these beautiful dishes was thrilling. Recipes range from very very simple – to rather complex so i would suggest starting slow and easy. Not everything has to be gourmet! Once you get started, i think youll be amazed at how enjoyable this type of food prep is.