Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Raw tips for marathon training?

okay – so i just signed up for a half marathon. (not really sure what i was thinking there! lol) Does anyone have any suggestions for pre/post training meals etc? Im not much of a runner, so i have a lot of ground to cover before the race in October, and i anticipate some pretty intense workouts. I normally prefer to workout first thing in the morning on an empty stomach – just water – but im not sure that will hold me through all the endurance training. Any thoughts? Thanks!

Comments

• I am new to the running world too. I started a few months ago just playing around and seeing what works best. I know a few long-time runners to share some advice with my training. I was training for the philly marathon but I pulled my groin a few weeks ago in a step class and have not been physically able to run since. :( But anyway, what I found worked for me was lotsssss of water a few hours before the run and high water content fruit. I love melons cheeries, apple, and lots of bananas especially. I found that if I ate dehydrated food or nuts/seeds before a run I felt really sick. Everyone is different so you just have to feel out your body. What marathon are you running? have you been to runnersworld.com? It has some good training plans. Good Luck! :)

• blujett8blujett8 Raw Newbie

if you’re ever on myspace there’s a “Running Raw” site there….they may have some advice?

• Here’s the link to the Run Raw Team:

http://www.runraw.org/meet.html

Even though they’re based in Chicago, they’re really helpful to anyone. Krista is great with a wonderful story and Tim Van Orden has been traveling doing lectures on running raw.

Good luck!