Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Up my milk supply

rawmamanibblesrawmamanibbles Raw Newbie
in Family

So i've been a wet- nurse for the last couple of months and im not able to produce much extra milk. Baby A is getting enough (mine) but baby B - im not able to extract much. everyother day or two i can get 9 oz in the moring - but thats it.

what can i eat/take to up my milk supply???

Comments

• spiritedmamaspiritedmama Raw Newbie

Mother's Milk Tea is great for increasing milk supply. Also, there are many good foods and herbs that are galactagogues (increase milk suply). Here is a great link on Dr. Sear's website with a whole list of galactagogues:

http://www.askdrsears.com/html/2/T027100.asp#T027101

• Blessed Thistle and Fenugreek pills from your local health food store. http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_fenugreek.html

Good luck!

• Hi rawmananibbles...

I've had the same problem last month while transitioning to a higher-raw-diet. Then I did some research and found on another forum the advice to take nutritional yeast: Take two desert spoons a day, mixed with orange juice.

I do this now for two weeks and it works! It reallyreally does!!

Rosa,

I am glad you found something that works...however, I would be careful with nutritional yeast as it is a form of MSG and may set your little one up for some allergy issues later, since it comes through in the breast milk....

• vegan2rawvegan2raw Raw Newbie

Where is this info on nutritional yeast Spiritedmamma? I use it and had no idea that its a form of MSG.