Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

JUICE FASTING AND RUNNING

carrie6292carrie6292 Raw Newbie

Okay, so I've been raw for over 2 years now and I'm doing a juice fast now (I've done a number of these before).... but, I'm new to running. I've been running for about 2 months now and I have a 5K coming up next Saturday. Has anyone ever done this while juice fasting? I've tried running twice this week and my body just doesn't seem to want to do it.... I'm not sure if it's because I was running on a treadmill or because my body is going through detox... or just not enough "fuel". Any suggestions would be fabulous! Does anyone have a juice that is great for before a run? Thanks!!!

Comments

• troublesjustabubbletroublesjustabubble Raw Newbie

I need to know this too. I've been running since the beginning of March and I run just over three miles a day and I'd really like to do a juice fast or even just a smoothie run but I have a 5K on Sunday that I"m running and I'll be doing more after that so I can't really stop running for long. I'd love to do a detox but I'm worried about running plus that.

• kellyannekellyanne Raw Newbie

when you're fasting you need complete rest. the whole point of fasting is for cleaning up and if your using your body's energy to run then your body won't have any energy for cleaning up... so it would render it pointless. if you want to do the best you can to clean out while still being able to run or do any activity, a mono meal diet of fruit would be ideal. something like bananas. you would eat 20-30 per day depending on how many calories you burn.

• Hi Troub- nice to see you around again. I didn't know you were running. I remember from your posts a long time ago that you were really low calorie, and still wanting to lose some lbs but not being able to... I'm curious how running has affected that- any comments?