Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Green Smoothie Inquiry

First off: Im new Im new Im new. I have no experience with this green smoothie I keep hearing about.

It seems like sometimes just adding spinach or another green into a primarily fruit based smoothie qualifies it as "green"? What are the qualifications?

Can you taste the spinach amongst the other fruit flavors?

I'm scared of this concept because I keep thinking it will have a grass consistency/flavor (if that makes sense)

Any suggestions for a beginner green smoothie? I'm kind of chicken at this point hehe

Comments

• troublesjustabubbletroublesjustabubble Raw Newbie

You've absolutely got it right. It's fruit with greens and some people even add veggies.

You don't taste the greens at all if you use something like spinach which is a really really powerful green. An easy way to start with green smoothies is to make a strawberry/banana smoothie(strawberries, bananas, water) and add greens. If you need it to be sweeter find a good natural sweetener like honey or if you're vegan you can use agave nectar. The greens just color the smoothie and provide nutrients! Not only do you get extra greens this way but you also get them in a blended form so they absorb far better than if you just ate them with your teeth.

Good luck on your journey and enjoy!

• I'm going blender and food processor shopping this weekend (I need to upgrade) Hopefully wonderful things will come of this. I'm definitely going to try the strawberry/banana/spinach idea. Seems safe enough for my newbie self.

Thanks!

• emtpdmomemtpdmom Raw Newbie