trouble making chocolate with cocoa butter, agave

valgal123valgal123 Raw Newbie

I spent $20 on cocoa butter to make chocolate. The recipes I have tried all use agave as sweetener. Well, it separates from the butter. I really don't want to spend another $20 for lucuma powder or yacon powder so I can make raw chocolate! I bought molds to, I was not expecting this! Sweet Gratitude uses sucanat, but thats sugar so that is out. Need help. Thanks

Comments

• keewikeewi Raw Newbie

Are you using cacao powder too?

• RawKarenRawKaren Raw Newbie

I'm not very experienced in chocolate making, so I tend to throw the ingredients in the blender with the melted cacao butter. By hand, it helps if the agave goes in last so it has other ingredients to work with. Here is some summer chocolate inspiration from the raw chef:

http://therawchefblog.com/maca-ice-cream-cacao-crackle-sandwiches#more-500

• achin70achin70 Raw Newbie

Are you making chocolate by tempering it? If you are, here are some directions:

Tempering Chocolate

I learned how to temper chocolate at the Eden Hot Springs retreat from Jeff Bottocelli, creator of the Fortina Bar. I haven't tried it yet, but it sounds pretty simple!

1. Use a glass double boiler on lowest heat. You can find Pyrex double boilers on ebay. Stainless steel double boilers can leave a slightly metallic taste.

2. Combine cacao powder and cacao butter with a whisk in equal portions until drippy. Whisking creates emulsification. Bring the temp to 115 to 120 degrees, using a digital thermometer. You can buy these at a kitchen store like Williams Sonoma, or maybe Bed, Bath and Beyond.

3. Add agave. Don't add beforehand, or the mixture might get too thick.

4. Bring temp down to 86 degrees. Keep using the digital thermometer to check the temp.