how can i eat barley?

hello all, this is my first post. I am extremely new to the raw thing, so new that I'm not even sure what percantage raw i am, or if i will ever be able to attain the 100% raw status. My reason for increasing my consumption of raw and for decreasing consumption of cooked is for health reasons.

i have a bunch of regular barley in my cupboard, the kind that is supposed to simmer for about 45 minutes before you eat it.

i am wondering if it is a good idea or a bad idea to just soak it for maybe 24 hours and then drain it and then just eat it.

any constructive advice would be appreciated. I have been "lurking" on these forums for a while and have seen many helpful discussions, so i am hoping that I can benefit from so much sharing of ideas.

thank you!

Comments

• waterbaby12347waterbaby12347 Raw Newbie

canoes Don't know why you would want to consume barley... Grains just don't usually fit with the raw diet, IMHO that is... smile

• I think I heard/read that you can sprout barley.

I've used sprouted wheat groats in recipes, so I guess barley should be fine to sprout and use as well...

• schmoopeeschmoopee Raw Newbie

Here's instructions:

http://www.sproutpeople.com/seed/print/barley.html

fyi,,,you can't sprout pearled barley because it's been steam processed.

good luck!

• thanks for the feedback and information, very helpful!

i have so much to learn about raw! And this will be good place to keep studying!

• Barley Grass is one of the most highly alkaline foods you can eat.

I would highly recommend sprouting your seeds.

:-)