Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

need a nut free raw sandwich spread

valgal123valgal123 Raw Newbie

My mother who is new to raw loves all the spreads I make for her raw sandwiches, but they all have nuts and seeds so they are kind of fattening. She needs to cut down on the calories so a recipe without nuts and seeds and large quantities of oil would be helpful. I don't know what it would be. Thank you

Comments

• LaEnsaladaLaEnsalada Raw Newbie

You could make a fruit jam by combining berries and dates. I've never tried it before but it seems like it would work.

• pixxpixx Raw Master

How about a pate of carrot & zucchini? I've made a dip out of zucchini that would've worked well as a spread. Unfortunately, I don't recall what all else was in it. :(

• mdcmdc

I make a carrot-walnut pate that is about 2/3 carrots to 1/3 walnuts. Still some nuts, but at least not 100%. I season mine with curry spices, onion & garlic, but it's also nice with "taco" spices. I really like it with celery sticks. Even my kids will eat it and they're totally not into raw. It's a little dry, though. Soaking the walnuts might help. Please let us know if you come across any good nut-free spread recipes.

• sv3sv3 Raw Newbie

How about using veggie pulp (or shredded veg), with spices or sun dried tomato to give some tangy flavour and you could always add ground buckwheaties (groats soaked then dried) as a substitue to the nuts/seeds?

Haven't actually tried it myself but it's an idea!

• LilEarthMuffinLilEarthMuffin Raw Newbie

what about a zucchini humus? you can omit the oil and add water instead. Ani Phy'o has a great recipe