Exercise - I need a new pilates or yoga plan.

I've been using the same pilates dvd for 3 years now, and although it was challenging at first, I find it now very mundane, boring, and don't see/feel results.

The dvd is not even really pilates - it's Denise Austin's Pilates Challenge, so it feels more like intense stretching combined with some aerobic-type exercises, which is not what pilates should really be.

I can't join a class, and if I do, I can't go to one regularly for 1. i don't have a car, 2. i don't have money.

I really enjoy both pilates and yoga, so is there a dvd or book that anyone could recommend for me that's challenging but practical? I really appreciate it. : D

Comments

• Vegnkid,

I also do yoga and am now starting to add raw food to my diet. I was in a similar boat to you early in my yoga training. I diversified away from my one DVD by taking videostreamed classes on yogatoday.com. The teachers are very good and they give a taste of three different styles of yoga. The classes go all the way from easy to intermediate levels.

One of the styles that I particularly enjoyed on yogatoday.com was Kundalini yoga. Now, Kundalini Yoga is my primary practice. I do all of the yoga out of instruction manuals that I bought at www.yogatech.com.

I currently do yoga, tai chi, bagua, and hsing-i (which are internal chinese martial arts). I find the yoga and internal martial arts practices complement one another very well.

Good luck with your practice. If you need any further information, don't hesitate to ask.

Best wishes,

Jason

• One other comment I forgot to make, another good resource for yoga is yahwehyoga.net . Depending on your religious views, this may be a good resource for you. I visited their studio on a business trip and was very impressed with the instruction and professionalism of the staff.

Sincerely,

Jason