Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Meat and Nuts

kuritekurite Raw Newbie

Okay just to let you know i am pretty new to being raw. The only part of my diet that isnt raw is meat but im working on that. Anyway...My first question is if i dehydrate meat is it still considered raw and is there some temperature i need to dehydrate the meat at for it to be considered safe? (And yes i know humans are fully capable of eating raw meat but not when they havn't been eating it all their lives).

My second questions is on nuts/seeds. I eat plenty of them but i keep reading how healthy it is to soak and sprout them. Although it sounds logical why would it actually be healthier for human beings if we evolved eating nuts and seeds when they have not be soaked/sprouted? Any explanation would be great.

thank you

Comments

• You can dehydrate meat, at least beef, and it becomes biltong or beef jerky. Excalibur has a book accompaniment to their dehydrator and it has a whole section on drying meats. I'm curious why - if you're going raw - you're looking for ways to include meat in your diet when there is overwhelming proof that a VEGAN raw diet is far more beneficial to your health?

Unsoaked nuts and seeds are EXTREMELY difficult for the human body to digest. Unsoaked nuts contain enzyme inhibitors and your body has to use its own enzyme stores to digest the nut or seed. Soaking the nut removes the enzyme inhibitors and the nut's own enzymes are released, helping it to digest easily in the gut.

Technically speaking we've evolved into BBQ meat and mushy vegetable eaters. Over millennia, our bodies have become (albeit poor) digesters of cooked (and therefore, in essence, pre-digested) food. We are simply not able to digest they way we once could.