Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

quick and filling? also - iron?

I am a college student, new to raw. I've been dabbling for a while - but am plugging away at being full-raw soon (high raw right now). I was wondering, what are some healthy, inexpensive snacks that will keep me going during the day? It's a little hard to whip out a salad while I'm studying in the library, and I don't like to eat a lot of cheap nuts (peanuts and sunflowers seeds) because weight loss is one of my reasons for rawness (not the top, but one of them). I do eat nuts, but not a lot. Anyway - what do you all do for snacks? I need something packable and satisfying?

Also - I am low in iron. I eat spinach - but what are other ways for a raw vegan to get iron? I used to eat kidney beans when I was vegan. What now?

Comments

• AVLAVL Raw Newbie

I always find apples & bananas to be very portable, cheap and filling. I'll have 2 apples or 2 bananas for a snack and it seems to do the trick for a couple of hours.

As for iron most leafy greens, parsley & sea vegetables, like seaweed are high in iron. Almonds & cashews also have iron.

I found this page that might be useful to you on iron in a raw vegan diet

http://therawdivas.com/blog/?p=1892

• I second the apples and bananas.

Also, big boxes of clementines!

As long as you have a place to unpeel them, they're nice little sweeties in their own little package.

Seasonal fruit is usually pretty cheap.

As for iron, broccoli, green beans, beets, watermelon, dates and prunes are all good raw sources.

• I...love...apples!!! Those are my snacks. I shamelessly eat them beside my neighbor who's shoving a big mac down their throat. Oranges, bananas, apples...

Hey, sometimes I eat spinach like pop-corn. Just bring it in a little bag or bowl and chow down! Sooo yummy! Pick it up with your fingers and enjoy! om nom nom...