I'm confused - what's raw?

newbienewbie Raw Newbie

Ok, I’m new to raw food, but determined to transition to a healthier raw lifestyle. My question is this – what ingredients are raw? I see so many delicious looking recipes posted here that have ingredients that I read to be not-raw on other sites. For example, cashews, pecans, macadamia nuts, brazil nuts, agave, dried fruit (raisins?), oats, nut butters (due to blanching), etc. http://www.purelyraw.com/deadfoodlist.htm Eventhough these are marketed as ‘raw’, they may be killed in the processing. Pretty soon, almonds may be added to the list with the proposed/pending pasteurization ruling.

I want to eat healthier and make the transition, but I’m confused at this point. Can anyone shed some light?

Thanks!!

Comments

• jenny2052jenny2052 Raw Newbie

Newbie, it is true that the ingredients you listed are usually heated in processing. Not everyone who is into raw food thinks it is necessary to be 100% raw—-a lot of people hang out at 80-90% raw, so that is part of the equation.

However, there are raw sources for most of the items you mentioned!

David Wolfe (http://www.sunfood.com/) carries truly raw cashews, pecans, macadamias (in shell), and brazil nuts. I think (not completely certain on this, though!) that most nuts that you find in their shells are generally raw. If I understand correctly, the heating and processing usually happens in the shelling. However, it is definitely possible that they are pasteurized in-shell, so you definitely want to be sure of your supplier. You’ll never find cashews in their shell, though, since the inside of the shell is toxic.