raw cookies, HELP!

i have recently gone raw. lately i have been making alot of “raw cookies” which consist of ground almonds, nut milk, dates, and a few seasonings. it gave me terrible gas. only recently have i read in another forum that almonds and dates are a no-go together. something about the almonds being to fattening and the dates too high in sugar. the body processing the fat first, then the sugar being left in the body for too long and going rancid. i also read in another forum that rawists “dont smell!” haha the things i have learned! so if im having such terrible gas surely it must be the dates and almonds together. your thoughts, please?

so i was trying to think of a more neutral approach. perhaps still making the cookies but without mixing dates and almonds together.

how about a milder “flour” base? maybe grinding up oatmeal (which i have learned isnt 100 percent raw but like i said, im a newbie) and mixing that with dates… or oatmeal with almonds.

what would be less fattening than almonds to grind up and make cookies with. (that is RAW)thank you all!

Comments

• coconuttycoconutty Raw Newbie

Well that’s kinda one of this big problems with a lot of the raw desserts… they seem to always combine nuts and fruit (whether it’s fresh fruit or dried), and well, nuts and sweet fruits together are a BIG no-no when it comes to food combining! So most definitely that’s where your gas was coming from! I have no idea what you could use for substitutions because of all the material I’ve read on food combining, it all says that fruits, cause they are high in sugar, should always be eaten alone. I know it can be hard cause sometimes you just gotta give into your cravings, but if you are aware of what certain food combos do to you, then you can just plan ahead (for a night alone?) he he!