Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Heat?

I’m very new to exploring raw, and knew I would deal with cravings and missing certain foods, but I hadn’t thought about heat. I’m struggling with the idea of not eating hot food. It’s been sooo cold, and I really want hot soup and toast.
Any suggestions from those of you who may have been through this?

Comments

• I know what you mean. If you have a high speed blender you can make raw soups that are warmed by the friction of the blender, that’s good. Or drink lots of organic, herbal tea or hot lemon and honey is cozy. Make some dehydrated goodies, chilis, spaghetti and warm them for a little bit in the dehydrator, completely warm and lovely. Try that.

• Try using lots of ‘heating’ ingredients in your food – ginger, cayenne, garlic, etc. When I first made the transition, about 45 days ago, the first few weeks were pretty rough – I was almost always cold and spent a lot of time taking hot showers and drinking hot lemon tea. But, things are much better now, and I find that I’m able to tolerate cold temperatures much more reasonably, even better in fact than before I went raw. Do some experimenting. You’ll find some way to keep yourself warm.

Best to you.

• Thanks for the advice :D

• Hello, I have been reading tons on being raw, I am new also. What I am finding in several different cookbooks is that heating above the magic number of 118 degrees farenheit is the problem temperature. Above 118 the enzymes begin to denature (break apart) and are no longer in a useable form for your body so you body has to break them down completely then rebuild whatever it can to use. Warming foods to below 118 does not damage the enzymes and your body can use them “as is” attaining great benefits, as you know.

I hope this helps you to find you warm foods again!