Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

organic?

honeywaterhoneywater Raw Newbie

in an old vegetarian magazine i once had, it had a list of fruits and vegetables that you should always try to eat organically (strawberries, for example) and a list of foods you shouldn’t worry about buying organic (like bananas).

does anyone know where i can find this list online or anything? i want to eat as organically as possible, but as a poor college student, i simply can not afford that. so i would like to know which fruits and veggies i should be buying that are organic and which ones i shouldn’t be sweating over.

thanks!

Comments

• I was told recently that if the vegetable or fuit has a thick outer shell then it is okay to buy it in the non organic section but for all things that you eat the outside of it or has a thin outer layer than you should definitely buy organic

• TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie

I don’t know who these guys are, but tell me what you think of the list they give on fruits in the order of pesticide load. I’d like to know too.

http://www.foodnews.org/

I never know which one can absorb into the fruit itself, you know? And yeah, it’s so expensive to buy all organic!

Before I forget: they say that most of the info on their lists take into consideration washing and/or peeling. Taht means that the apples(for example) were washed, so you see the pesticide inside the fruit itself, not the outside.

• You want to buy organic bananas or American-grown bananas(such as Hawaiian Apple Bananas.)

Many conventionally grown bananas use the strongest pesticides out there(to ward off tarantulas) and I don’t care how thick the skin is, it’s not worth the risk.