raw curious

locustgirllocustgirl Raw Newbie

hi raw food people! i’m a new girl here… what initially brought me to this site is my decision to embark on a spring cleanse that entails eating raw vegetables and fruit for 3 weeks (with herbal supplements). it is exciting for me to see all the creativity and care that has gone into so many of the recipes on this site, and i am looking forward to trying many of them (and posting some of my own creations too!). so far i have made some dehydrated zucchini chips with salt and pepper which i absolutely love. i’m a hiker girl too, so dehydrating is a must for me. i also work for a holistic doctor who uses nutrition in his practice and being able to source recipes here for patients who have special needs like grain, dairy, and/or nut intolerances is also a blessing.

i’ve been studying healing and nutrition since 1994. i’m an artist/adventurer (ex-acupressure therapist) living in san francisco. i’m definitely food freaky and always looking for a good recipe. i get much pleasure out of kitchen and home remedy experiments. the foundation of my diet over the past several years has based on weston a. price principles (native nutrition). i am not vegetarian, vegan, or full on going raw, but i would like to broaden my horizons by incorporating more raw food in my diet. the source of my nutrition comes mostly from local organic/biodynamic farms which also includes local pasture-raised animal products. so nix on the factory farms and corporate agriculture and support of sustainable ways is perhaps a shared value…soaking and sprouting grains, beans, and nuts fall into traditional preparation of food so i think we are on the same page with that one, and fermenting fruits and vegetables is also one too?