Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

breastfeeding

Hi I’m new to this raw thing and I’m still breastfeeding. I woman gave me piece of her mind last night. In my opinion she’s just ignorant but I’m curious if any of you have done it. Is it ok? Is there something I should know? Should I eat more?

Comments

• Hi, welcome!

I “discovered” raw halfway through this pregnancy (due on Thursday!), so I’ve had similar concerns and it’s more than a little frustrating. The first thing you should be aware of is that suddenly going 100% raw will cause a large detox of your body. I’ve read too many things that suggest that this is NOT a good thing to do whilst breastfeeding, because all the toxins you were storing semi-sefely in your body get sent straight to the baby through your breastmilk (if pregnant, down the umbilical cord). Because you have no real way of knowing what substances your body will get rid of, or the effect they may have on your fast-developing baby, it therefore makes sense to make sure you take it somewhat slowly, by steadily decreasing the things you know you want to get rid of and increasing the good stuff. Might not be what you want to hear (me neither!) but still.