Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

How much juice is a juicer meant to give?

I just brought a new juicer, and I was reallllllllllllllly excited

but when I juiced a WHOLE pineapple I only ended up getting a small cup of juice.

Am I doing something wrong or?

Comments

• jenjen

What kind of a juicer do you have? I have heard that the type makes a huge difference. I have an older second-hand Champion and feel like it ends up wasting a lot of my fruits and vegetables.

• zinfandelzinfandel Raw Newbie

I have no experience with this, but I was thinking of buying a juicer soon. What kind did you get?

• RawKidChefRawKidChef Raw Newbie

I've read that you can re-juice the leftover pulp, that may yield a significant amount of juice. Have you tried that?

• blueyzblueyz Raw Newbie

I haven't used mine for awhile(been blending more than juicing) but I do remember it changed with what I wasa juicing. Some gave much more juice than others, and some I got better results from in the blender than juicer if I just let it get a bit riper. You can try to rejuice the leftover fiber, or use it in a recipe depending on what it is. I've taken chunks from more veggie drinks and added to soups/salads.

I do think it also depends on the quality and type of blender as well.

• I think it would depend on the pineapple you start with ... but I was curious, so I just gave this a try ...

juiced 1/2 pineapple in my green star (masticating juicer). Yield: 1 1/4 cup of juice, and some "froth". It separated nicely. There was almost no pulp, and it was pretty dry. The greenstar doesn't work that well for fruit juicing if you want fast results, -- you have to be patient and not push stuff through fast. The screen (even the coarse one) tends to get clogged up. But the final result is great.