Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

How Do You Deal With Raw Pets?

ras-saadonras-saadon Raw Newbie

I was wondering for all those who feed their pets raw as well how do you deal with it as vegans, I've been feeding my two dogs for about 2 weeks now and every time when I arrange their meals I feel totally drained, mentally tired and disgusted, if its lots of organs I sometimes even get nausea, anyone got any tips? this is working so good for my dogs and took away completely one of my dogs digestive issues which he has been suffering pretty much since he was born almost 2.5years ago, but I would really like to make it work a bit more for me as well..

Comments

• TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie

I know it's upsetting when you are new to feeding your pet raw. I still feel bad, and I've been doing this for a couple of years. However, it does get considerably better.

It also helped me that I saved her life by changing her to an all-raw, carnivore's diet. I just decided I would not have her suffer anymore. She's my responsibility, and I won't abuse her.

I know some vegans who freaked out so much they wore rubber gloves. Personally, I don't see how it made them feel better, but I thought I'd throw it out, there:-)

• SuasoriaSuasoria Raw Newbie

I totally understand! Our homeopathic vet strongly recommended we try to give our cat some raw meat. I felt totally weird even asking for some at Whole Foods...it was bizarre from beginning to end. Luckily the little princess didn't like it, and it was back to canned food.

But I hear about vegans who think they're being ethical by feeding their carnivorous pets* a plant-based diet, even with various supplements, and I tend to think that they're better off not having pets if their values conflict so much with responsible pet care.

* I've seen many dogs thrive on a vegetarian diet, but cats can't hack it.