Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

How many avocados per day is okay?

Is there a limit to how many avocados a day you should eat? Would it be okay to eat two? Obviously, I'm new to this and trying to figure things out. I know avocados are a good fat, but I don't want to pork out on them. lol

Comments

• PamPam

Okay, I'll bite. You're bound to get a wide range of answers on this. The first time I went raw, I was eating 1 or 2 a day. However, I have since come to the conclusion that fat IS fat. Sure, the fat in a whole food is better than oil but it still has to be treated by the body as a fat (meaning your system still has to clean the fat out of your blood).. I now limit my avocado consumption to 1/4 to 1/2 a day, and that's in the absence of little or no additional fats. However, my daily calorie consumption is around 1400 to 1500. If I ate 2500 like some lucky high metabolism souls, I would adjust accordingly.

All that being said, though, in the beginning it may be best not to be too restrictive!

Pam

• I eat one a week. or two a month.

Do whatever you feel is necessary.

• RawKidChefRawKidChef Raw Newbie

avocados have 33 grams of fat each and even if it's raw fat it's still fat. If I eat even an entire avocado in a day it's way too much. A quarter or half is more like it. A low fat raw diet is best because eating fat places a coating of fat around the cells and slows the digestive system down big time. lots of people say they feel better on a high fat diet but this is because the fat is making everything else hard to digest. maybe it's just a personal preference but the monkeys tend not to eat more than 15% fat and mostly fruit and lettuce. I know it sounds a lot like 811 stuff but it's also can be looked at like basic raw food stuff.

• angie207angie207 Raw Master