Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Pasteurized Almonds

Yikes, I just got a bag of organic almonds and didn't realize until they arrived that they are pasteurized. I'm new to Raw and not sure if this is really bad or not. I up to this point have been using non-organic raw almonds so I'm figuring that pasteurized is better than non-organic. Your opinions please:)

Comments

• pixxpixx Raw Master

All California almonds are now pasteurized. It's a law now. Non organic are treated with a chemical, organic are flash heated. Some folks are claiming that the flash heated ones are still viable. I suppose you could try sprouting a few, and see if they will grow. I buy imported almonds. From my understanding, Spain does not pasteurize almonds.

• superfood2superfood2 Raw Newbie

I was able to get raw almonds at a few stores in NYC, even already sprouted and dehydrated. I rarely eat nuts or seeds, though. Go to health food stores or raw stores or sites. Otherwise, even ones labeled "raw" (including nut butters) usually aren't. There are a few exceptions, but after you've been raw a while, you recognize the companies that are really-raw-friendly. :)

• Thanks for the info Pixx and Superfood 2! I only use the almonds for almond milk and sometimes Raw Granola. I'll have to check out the almonds from Spain. Where do you order them Pixx?

• pixxpixx Raw Master

Trader Joe's sells raw Valencia almonds, and Nutsonline.com carries raw Marcona almonds. The Marconas make the BEST nutmylk!

• Cool, I have a Trader Joe's close. I forget about them for organic nuts. Thanks!

• Here is a short article that you might find interesting

it helps explain what happened to the almond...

http://mediaenvironment.wordpress.com/2009/04/24/waiting-for-the-dew-to-rise/

• Thanks for the article SimplyRaw!