Hello!

Hey there,

I'm Chad and I hail from Toronto, Ontario.

While I am still a little new to raw/living foods, I have been a vegan chef for nearly 3 years and have been cooking professionally for 8. My transformation to veganism began around 3 to 4 years ago when I was over-over weight, non energetic, and just didn't seem to care about my diet until one day I getting a physical done and my doctor told me that I had to do something about my weight and eating habits (I was vegetarian, but not eating to healthy). I also weighed nearly 340 pounds.

I immediately started eating healthier and started exercising, which started with just walking laps around a forest trail, which eventually lead into cycling.

Around August 2007, I moved to Toronto after I found out that I would be working at the popular vegan restaurant, Fressen and eliminated all animal by-products. I started cycling the city back and forth from work (about 15km a day total) and I noticed myself losing more weight and having more energy, sleeping less and generally I just became happier. By this time I now weighed roughly what I am now, which is about 240 pounds.

Fast forward two and half years, and I now work at a mostly raw vegan restaurant and have found myself falling in love with the raw food movement. The freshness and overall taste of food just seems to amaze me.

I wouldn't consider myself a raw vegan, but I am about 60 percent. But I choose to eat raw most of the time. Being a chef, my girlfriend and I continually eat the most fresh and homemade fare possible. (Although we have our vices, pizza night. Haha.)

Well that's a little bit of me for now, I hope to meet like-minded individuals on this forum and continue my quest for knowledge in the raw food movement.

Thank you!

Comments

• AVLAVL Raw Newbie

Hi Chad!