Do Raw Food Teachers need to be "certified" in the US???

the_chumanathe_chumana Raw Newbie

I am starting a raw foods business. Currently I have been teaching classes and am also working on my recipe book. My question is: HOW MUCH CAN I TEACH PEOPLE WITHOUT BEING A NUTRITIONIST OR DOCTOR?? Can I only show them how to prepare food or can I teach what to eat and what it does to the body? Do I need to be a nutritionist to recommend foods to eat? Who certified the original "raw food teachers"? Can i start my own raw food certification program/school? Can I be a personal raw chef with no "personal chef" experience? (I was a chef in a restaurant for 4 years) I have never taken any classes, I am one of those lucky folks who lives in a town so small I can count the vegans on one hand and I am the ONLY raw foodist. I am teaching a class on raw foods to 100 people in 3 weeks, most of whom have NEVER heard of raw foods. Does anyone have any advice for starting my raw business? Can I just whip up some business cards and call myself a raw coach/chef? I'm putting my business plan together, but i haven't been able to find the info I'm looking for. I've been teaching classes for one year, I would like to make this a fulltime thing. Thank you for any help!

Comments

• the_chumanathe_chumana Raw Newbie

No advice? I wanted to calrify: I have been studying raw foods on my own for a number of years. I have read every book available, studied 80/10/10, Natural hygiene, veganism, etc. I have taught classes on food prep and raw food basics. I have hosted raw gourmet dinners and raw potlucks. I now have people who would like me to teach them personally and also prepare meals. Is this something I can just set up an LLC for and get going?

• This will be a long post, so apologies in advance.