Going partially raw - will I still recieve the same benefits?

Hello all!

I'm relatively new to veganism, but am considering progressing to a raw food diet. I've spoken to my kinesiologist (who is also a nutritionist) about going raw, and her advice was to only go partially raw, particularly now that we're well into the winter months.

I have also read that according to Chinese medicine, the stomach / spleen needs a certain amount of warm food in order to 'maintain long term function' (http://deepesthealth.com/2007/7-keys-to-a-balanced-vegan-diet-in-line-with-chinese-medicine-philosophy/). I know there are a lot of arguments against raw veganism floating around on the web, but this one intrigued me, as I am a strong believer in Eastern medicine / philosophy. Is anyone able to shed any light on this debate?

In conclusion, I'm definitely going to start incorporating more raw foods into my diet, but will i still gain the same life-changing benefits that the majority of raw-vegans rejoice over, on a 50/50 raw diet (75/25 in the summer months)?

Also, what are your thoughts on grains? I've come across a few articles arguing that they are not suitable for human consumption, which makes sense, as humans only started consuming them recently, and of course, most of them need to be cooked in order to be eaten (with the exception of oats).

Sorry for all the questions, I'm quite new to all this!

Comments

• camiheartsrawcamiheartsraw Raw Newbie