Help: mustard greens

Yesterday I went on a little adventure to Fresh Market, and I got really excited in the midst of organic produce. What can I say? I starting buying yummy looking greens that I’ve never tried before, one of them being mustard greens.

I tried making a salad today, thinking I was really clever for making a sweet dressing (“honey” mustard, get it?) Anyhow, I tried some, and I almost cried.

It was sooo spicey! Spicier than a habanero. It’s sad because I’d really like to incorporate more greens into my diet, and mustard greens are so beautiful, but it doesn’t look like I can handle the spiciness. Does anyone have any ideas to make them more palatable? Should I maranate them??

Thanks in advance!!

With love, Odalys

Comments

• deborahanndeborahann Raw Newbie

What about using a little with lettuce on some uncooked bread (or ezekiel bread if you are ok with that) on a sandwich or wrap? I grew them last year and I don’t recall them being that spicy, but different areas produce different results. Before I started this raw effort I would saute up sausage , onions, cauliflower, garlic and red pepper flakes and mix in the mustard greens at the end after I had blanched them for 2 to 3 min. If you are not against a little cooking, you could try a short steam. You could also use it in a green smoothie, again, mixed with milder greens like romaine or another lettuce, or spinach. Sorry to ramble and I hope this helps!

• m00nchilem00nchile Raw Newbie