Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Starch?

I am a newbie to being raw. Infact I haven’t gone raw yet, just tryed two raw meals that both flopped : ( I am not giving up though. I decided that the best way to go would be to understand what foods do what. Who best to ask then thouse who have gone before? I was wondering what foods have starch? What foods are whole grain that you can eat raw?

I just heard that you need b12 and that it is only in meat? That can’t be true. Ok here is another question, would anyone mind sharing what are the staples in their diet?

It’s not just me, I have a husband and two children. 4 and 6.

I need a lot of help.

Comments

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

I’d like to recommend a couple of books: Ani’s Kitchen by Ani Phyo for recipes, and The Raw Family by Vicyoria Boutenko – she turned her family raw and the book details the whole journey. She has a husband and two kids too.

It helps to read alot…it helped me with being confident eating this way.

You can eat any grain raw. Most people soak and sprout them. When they are sprouted they have maybe 10x more nutrients than when dried. We make sprouted grain into raw bread often called essene bread.

There have been lots of threads about B12 on here. This is a good one: http://goneraw.com/forums/3/topics/2126

When I was transitioning to raw I would eat a green smoothie in the morning or green juice. Then I’d have a big kale salad with a piece of cake or pie, and for dinner I’d have a raw pizza with some more pie or cake…and I’d fill up during the day with raw bread and cheeze.

It is helpful to make desserts, breads and main courses once a week in bulk. And just do your salads, smoothies and jucies daily.

It makes it cheaper and easier to have a dehydrator.