Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

first raw food purchases - what should they be??

Hello everybody!!

I’m new to this and although I’ve been researching and reading about this for a while now, I need advice from some seasoned raw fooders.

Being a student, I can only purchase one at a time, so what should be first? A juicer, a blender, or a food processor. Which is most versatile?

Also—what are some staple ingredients? I was thinking Agave Nectar, cold pressed olive oil, sea salt…am I on the right track?

Help!

Christain

Comments

• pianissimapianissima Raw Newbie

the magic bullet was at costco today for $49. i cannot praise this item enough, esp. if you are cooking for one. it is food processor, blender and grinder in one. it gets nuts to a powder, you can make great salad dressings, sauces, curries…

but i agree with rawjim, food processor is the first start. i don’t use my juicer enough, and go through phases of not really wanting juice, mixing and mincing is consistently necessary.

good luck!

• jenny2052jenny2052 Raw Newbie

Cuisinart has a dual food processor/blender that sells for about $100 in stores (probably cheaper online?), so that would give you two in one. I thought the blender was pretty effective (it definitely blends smoothies without ice chunks, for example), but I’ve been using a Vitamix for a while now, so that has kind of re-calibrated my expectations. The little duo Cuisinart food processor is still the only food processor I have, though, so I suppose I’m pretty happy with it!

Actually, I almost never use my food processor. Maybe it’s because I grew up without one, but I think it’s kind of a hassle to use unless I’m making really large quantities of something (I’m usually just cooking for 1-2). However, I use my blender all the time.