Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

wheatgrass misunderstanding

For a while now I have been throwing in blades of wheatgrass into my morning green smoothies. My vita mix blends it up great. I am now starting to grow my own and on one of the seed packages it says to never consume the grass itself only the juice and that the grass is indegestable to humans?!? Is that possible?

Comments

• karrie I have been wondering about this as well because I don’t have a juicer and I want to add wheatgrass into my diet.

• I know I was totally baffled by the idea that it was indegstable for us. I have been using it for about 8 months with not a single issue.

• I just looked that up after reading this, and apparently you do need to juice the wheatgrass for it to truly be beneficial! I never knew that either! I read on three different websites that it is indigestible by humans unless juiced!! Amazing. I never would have known.

• alpdesignsalpdesigns Raw Newbie

We had this topic come up recently here. My suggestion was to blend it with water and strain it through a nutmilk bag. If the grass blends, it would seem to make it more digestible. Do you grow your own wheatgrass? I’m considering ordering some frozen juice because of the mold problem others have had with indoor grown wheatgrass. The weather where I live has not been good enough this year to grow it outside.

• See… I always just rationalized that because it was a thicker grass…and cows eat grass but have four stomachs…somehow it would probably not be good digestivley. When I tried looking it up I came up with a lot of the benefits of wheatgrass but not much else.

123, where would you order the frozen wheatgrass juice from?

• rawmamarawmama Raw Newbie