Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Howdy and Yeehaw!

Hello everyone! I never know what to say in these kinda things. BUT, what basically brought me here is the obsessive research I’ve been doing on Veganism. I am a nursing student in my second year of clinicals and the patients I’ve been seeing in the hospital really made something in me snap. (So many people are not active in their health care, they just rely on doctors to prescribe the latest “it” drug to hide their symptoms or atleast quiet them down for a bit.) They don’t realize how huge nutrition is. I feel discouraged and disgusted and it has made me look at myself and my habits. I’ve always thought I’ve eatin well, you know, lean meats, whole grains, salads…ice cream. ;-) but I don’t feel well. I’ve watched so many people around me get sick, become morbidly obese, or just depressed and listless. I think I’m on that same track and I want it to end. I told my friends and family that I was going to cut out all animal products from my diet for a month to see how I would feel…they weren’t happy, but it’s been 3 weeks and I have no desire for my old eating habits. I haven’t gone raw yet but I am heading in that direction. I have no idea what I’m doing, I don’t know any raw vegans to guide me or help so that’s why I’m here. You all get to be my therapy group. Ha Ha. I live outside Philly so if anyone knows of any organic farms around here let me know. I also want to go visit some raw restuarants in Philly and NYC..all info will be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much, I look foward to gettin to know you all. Ricki

Comments

• Hello,