Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Painful poopie??

I didn’t put this in the other ‘poop’ thread because I have a specific problem that I need help on right away. Oh gosh, I can’t believe I’m writing all this in a forum! LOL .. I’m pretty new to raw. I eat about 60-80% RAW. The past week or so I noticed that when it’s time for me to ‘go’ its super painful. I have no belly problems at all whatsoever & could eat pretty much anything I wanted ( before eating a SAD diet & then a vegetarian diet) – now that I’m incorporating raw foods into my diet I feel awful when I have to go. Before going raw I ‘went’ about 2-3x per day with no pain? Can this be because of nuts? My intestines feel like they are in knots during this time? then it goes away?? Wouldn’t I feel the pain/bloating like I’ve read that others experienced right after eating raw nuts?

Comments

• Are you eating more nuts and seeds than you did before on a vegetarian diet? If so, you might have diverticulitis, which are little pockets inside the intestines that trap such things, and it doesn’t always cause pain and bloating but can cause difficulty with waste elimination. Don’t eat hard nuts, such as peanuts, that don’t digest completely. You should still be able to eat cashews and almonds, but chew them well. Small, hard seeds (like poppy seeds) will be difficult as well. Try soaking and softening them. I have this problem and find that I can eat most foods as long as I soak and soften the harder things so that they digest more completely.