Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

raw on a budget

I am new to raw and am trying to find a ballence that will work for our family. My biggest challenge is the cost of quality produce and other raw foods. Does anyone have any tips or tricks to share with me?

I buy the top 12 dirty dozen produce (from www.foodnews.com) in organics or not at all. But that includes all my greens, apples and other stuff I use for juicing. I’m going to try some green smoothies this week and that should be a little cheaper than juicing I think.

Comments

• pianissimapianissima Raw Newbie

i read in a book on juicing that if you are going to use non-organic produce it’s best to juice it because the pesticides and chemicals stick to the fibers, not the juice.

there was another forum on this topic. check in the new to raw section or try typing in some key words in “forums”

what helps me is to keep things as simple as possible. produce doesn’t have to be that expensive, even organic. find out which ones you get more mileage out of. you don’t need to buy any of the fancy raw imports (like gogi berries, chia seeds, online nuts, etc…) to be raw.

• Thanks! It is tempting to want to try out all the expensive and fancy things that ppl mention on here. I do NEED to find a source for young coconuts. I had one from the healthfood store and it was soooo amazing. Better than ice cream! :)

• achin70achin70 Raw Newbie

You can includes more seeds, and fewer nuts, since they tend to be more economical, esp. flax, sunflower and pumpkin seeds. Hemp seeds are an exception – wonderfully healthy for you, but pricey.

When I buy online, I try to buy in bulk so that I won’t have to order anytime soon and pay the exorbitant shipping costs. :)

• bittbitt Raw Newbie