Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Vegetables that NEED to be cooked??

As you all know I’m new to the raw diet and searching high and low, reading everything I can so I begin on the right foot.

I googled “food combining” can came across this site: http://www.bodyecology.com/06/11/16/cook_vegeta…

Here’s an excerpt: “You know you should eat your vegetables – but are they better cooked or raw? Raw vegetables of all kinds are great sources of vitamins, minerals, anti-oxidants, and fiber. However, the finest vegetables available are of no value to you if you cannot properly digest them – a key issue with some raw vegetables.

Eating raw cruciferous vegetables actually suppresses your thyroid’s hormone production, creating fatigue, coldness in your body and a slowing of your metabolism. Cruciferous vegetables include broccoli, Brussels sprouts, cabbage, cauliflower, kale, mustard greens, radishes, rutabagas and turnips.

Cabbage and its cousins in the cruciferous vegetable family are nutrient-rich, but unless you cook or ferment them, they could slow down your metabolism.

So, how can you get the benefits of these great cruciferous vegetables without all the negative effects?

When eating cruciferous vegetables, it’s important to cook them to avoid the thyroid-suppressing properties. But what if you are committed to a raw food diet (or you simply want to enjoy them raw)?

Body Ecology’s system of health and healing has a solution for raw foodists who want to eat cabbage, kale and collards

Comments

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

That may be true, I don’t know, but personally I don’t believe it for one second.

Consider this:

Cooking changes food. When we heat food above the human body temperature of 38 degrees, it changes. This heated food effects our health much differently than natural, unchanged foods.