Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Regarding oats

I’m new to raw, and I have a question about oats. I have celiac disease, and so it’s terribly hard to find gluten-free oats (or, rather, oats free of cross contamination). The ones I have found I don’t have a reaction to, but they’re kiln roasted, much to my chagrin. I have eaten them in raw recipes recently, but am a bit agitated considering they’ve already been heated. My question is, am I defeating the purpose too much by eating them? Would it be better to continue eating them raw? Cooked? Should I just give them up altogether? I have limited breakfast-type options as I’m allergic to a plethora of foods, so any feedback is appreciated.

Comments

• deborahanndeborahann Raw Newbie

I get fresh rolled raw oats from goldminenaturalfoods.com. I am not sure about possible contamination, though. Lately I have been subbing buckwheat sprouts for oats and loving it! I also buy my groats from the above website as they are of a higher quality and fresher than ones from my HFS. To sprout, soak the buckwheat groats 15 to 20 min. Rinse and put in sprouters. Rinse 3 times over a 24 hr period and they should have little tails by then and be done. I dry them 3to 6 hrs in the dehydrator and store in the fridge.

• ZoeZoe Raw Newbie

If you want to be raw then I would say that it is important that you buy really raw oats as ALL oats found in normal health food shops unless they specifically state that they are truly raw oats have been steamed. Even oat groats. They steam them because the clever worms won’t eat cooked oats! Really raw oats are more expensive. But if that is what will make you hapy and feel satisfied then maybe it is a good idea to have some.