Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

To eat grains, or not to eat grains?

RCBAliveRCBAlive Raw Newbie

I have been eating raw since 1999 and still have unresolved food issues. I am searching for resolution and ultimately making peace with food and eating.

I would really appreciate any feedback on adding/including soaked/sprouted grains on the raw food diet. To date, I have not included them, but have been considering adding them in an effort to decrease my nut cravings and overeating. I wonder if these grains will provide me with an option that is more satisfying and filling.

Comments

• bittbitt Raw Newbie

the only grains i eat are buckwheat, but they are technically seeds.

• RCBAliveRCBAlive Raw Newbie

what do you do with the buckwheat bitt? what do you think about sprouted oat groats or quinoa?

• thecavsmanthecavsman Raw Newbie

what about oat groats? Anyone eat those? I used to like these Poptarts on this site a while ago that used almond butter and oat groats. I stopped when I realized that I don’t really need nuts and that almond butter isn’t really raw, but if I get really raw almond butter from this place I know, I might try to make them again oneday.

• I think soaked/sprouted grains can be a great addition to a raw/living diet. I have enjoyed sprouted wheat berries as a cereal with fruit and a little nut milk, with savory herbs and diced vegetables as a salad. Soaked buckwheat with a raw curry sauce is great and soaked oat groats are yummy as a cereal as well. I’ll have to pull out some recipes to share on the site but two sources right off the top of my head are Ani Phyo and Living on Live Food. Enjoy experimenting and let your bodies wisdom be your guide. Best wishes on making peace with food and eating. It’s a dance I share as well, so can empathize!