Hello Beautiful!

It looks like you're new to The Community. If you'd like to get involved, click one of these buttons!

In this Discussion

Parent non-supportive

Hi all :) My name’s Dawn and I’m 20 years old. Currently I’m a full time student living at home. I’ve known about the raw food diet for many years now but never really moved forward with it until recently. I’ve been vegetarian since age 11, turned vegan at age 19. In the last couple of months my boyfriend has become 100% raw. He went from vegetarian to raw overnight practically. Lately, I’ve been eating mostly 100% with an occasional sweet potato to help me with the detox symptoms. I spend a lot of time at my boyfriend’s apartment but I still come to my mom’s house nearly everyday. Today when I came home to my mom’s house, I went into the kitchen to make a spinach-orange-avocado smoothie. My mom was sitting at the table with her friend eating crackers and cheese. My mom’s a pescetarian and usually a pretty cool parent overall. But today, today what she did was uncalled for. First off she was trying to talk to me while I was using the blender and I told her that I’m trying to make food and we could talk afterwards. She said “that’s not food.” I was surprised she would even say something like that. Her herself supports a CSA and has a vegetable garden. Her and her friend then proceeded asking me what I had today as protein. They also told me I looked like I was “wasting away.” I guess it just really hurts that my mom doesn’t support me and my choices. She refuses to try most of my raw food dishes with the exception of salads and green juices. I suppose that’s a start. Just now, I wrote her an email asking her what she is worried about, if she thinks that I can only get certain things from cooked foods? I know there was a recent post about being raw with a family but I feel like my situation is a little bit different. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for everything.

Comments