I got a dehydrator! Yay! But...

Branwyn32Branwyn32 Raw Newbie

I got it from a garage sale for $25. It’s an 8 tray Ronco thing: http://www.amazon.com/Ronco-Dehydrator-Yogurt-M…

It was all packed in the box so I didn’t realize til I got it home that it doesn’t have a fan. So apparently it takes twice as long to dehydrate, and the reviews on Amazon don’t look too promising. It doesn’t have a thermostat, just on/off and it seems to run REALLY hot…I’ve had an old meat thermometer stuck in WIDE OPEN vents on top, and it’s reading 140F! I’m new at this but that’s way too hot isn’t it? Plus I mean…we’re talking like DAYS to dehydrate things if it works as “well” as the reviews say.

Did I flub up here? Should I sell it on craigslist or something and find a better one?

Comments

• Oh, Branwyn I’m sorry, I would try to get a new one. :<

• I’m glad you pointed this out! That is the exact same one I had, but I left it with my roommate halfway across the country when I moved. I was just about to ask if he could send it to me, but now I will probably buy a new one instead. It did always seem a little too hot now that you mention it! Thanks!

• Just FYI, I left mine on the corner of my sidewalk when we moved from North Cali, specifically cause I DESPISED that piece of SH&&. Just sayin,,,

• beanybeeganbeanybeegan Raw Newbie

All newbies. Please, please, please! Do a search about dehydrators. There is much information here.

• Branwyn32Branwyn32 Raw Newbie

Dude I totally fail! facepalm Damn. Back to craigslist.

• queenfluffqueenfluff Raw Newbie

Yes, the Ronco’s are NOT a good deal (well they are cheap but that is about it). Yes, you need a fan in your dehydrator for doing raw things. Hate to say it but you will have to spend at least $100 on a good dehydrator for raw.