Fish Bladders in Wine?

vegan2rawvegan2raw Raw Newbie

I am passing this along this info was provided to me on Raw Washington (yahoo group) by The Sidecar of pigs for peace ( a vegan store in U district)

I beleive they can still have added ingredients such as ‘fish bladders’.sugar, etc…

Yeah, unfortunately organic does not equal animal-free in the alcohol beverage world. Isinglass, however, is just one animal byproduct used for beer and wine.

Gelatin from cow and pig sinews, albumin from egg, and casein from milk are also used as fining mediums.

The vegan alternative (equally effective) is bentonite clay.


  • TomsMomTomsMom Raw Newbie

    So gross and unneccesary to use animal byproducts. My family makes their own wine in their cellars and they don’t use animal byproducts or filth.

    It could use a little sugar sometimes(cough, cough)

    Thanks for the links:-)

Sign In or Register to comment.